Leave a comment

Open Letter to My Professor

greenscreen_by_sanfranguy1

Thank you Gina for your kind words.

Jay,

This semester has come and gone in what seemed like a blink of an eye. I guess four months isn’t such a long time after all. In this past 16 weeks, you have managed to teach us much, not only about multimedia, but about ourselves. Your class made it worth waking up at 5 a.m. to drive 66 miles for an 8 a.m. class (I hate mornings).

I came into this class not knowing how to do anything but stare at Photoshop in confusion and wonder why anyone made this software so complicated. I came into this class asking myself “WHY DO I HAVE TO TAKE THIS?! Why was I required to take this broadcasting class when I was a Public Relations major, why did I have to know how to pan and tilt, why did I need to do a chroma key, why did I have to shoot a news feature, WHY??” As I sit here today writing this, I understand why. I understand the importance of being well-rounded. I understand the importance of exploring hidden abilities you may have. I understand the benefits of knowing the software.

A month and a half into the semester, I volunteered myself to produce and edit a video as a part of a public relations campaign for our media kit. I volunteered because I was confident enough that with your class, I would be able to do it; thank you. Also, after a few hours of editing and your help, we were able to finish the video in its entirety and the client loved it. We got many compliments on the video and on my news feature. We were given presents and certificates of appreciation, again thank you.

So what did I learn this semester? I learned to step out of my comfort zone, I learned how to work with classmates to reach a common goal, I learned to believe in my ability to learn new things, I learned how to successfully put a story together in video, but mainly I learned that there’s something worth learning anywhere you end up in life.

Thank you for a semester full of surprises and challenges.

Leave a Reply

